Monday, July 28, 2014

Six Ft Hick: Chicken

Label: Valve/East West Records
Distributor: Warner Music Australia
Cat No: 8573-85678-2
Year Of Release: 2000
Produced by: Tony Cohen
Mixed by: Tony Cohen (tracks 1 - 4), Jeff Lovejoy (tracks 5 - 13), Loki Lockwood (track 8)
Personnel: Geoff Corbett (vocals), Ben Corbett (vocals), Dan Baebler (guitar), Fred Noonan (drums), Karim Mellowship (electric banjo)

Back in 1999 - 2000, Warner Music in Australia was riding high on the Brisrock bandwagon with Regurgitator, Pangaea and Pretty Violet Stain. This band slipped through the cracks commercially, but are one of the most exciting and energetic and controversial rock'n'roll acts to ever come out of Brisbane.
Led by the Corbett brothers, the band grew up in the ultra-conservative bible-toting town of Nambour before starting out in Brisbane in 1995.
This album is a holy combination of rockabilly, punk, and swamp rock bristling with some great fuzzy scrubbed guitars, more swagger that makes Iggy Pop look like a choirboy and frantic drumbeats.
Geoff Corbett recently confessed to me that it was a very interesting time for the band during the recording sessions. You can virtually smell the alcohol and whatnot wafting through the studio during the making for a band that enjoyed their unmarried childless reckless yoof to the max.
Some of the song titles ensured that this band would not get airplay on Austereo networks such as the delightfully titled "Dog Eared Porno Mag", "Oysters", "Jesus, Gimme Peace" and "Goddamn". The Corbett's naughty glands work overtime on this album as well as on stage (you have to witness Ben's throwing himself and writhing on the floor and smashing his microphone on his forehead as well as Geoff sculling beer out of his cowboy boots).
If indie, emo and grunge bore you to death and you just feel like a good throwback to the days when rock'n'roll was fun and dangerous to like at the same time then definitely give this album a few spins.
These days, the band are in their 40's and both the Corbett lads are married with children but the wild stage antics and their facetious and socially biting humour are very much still intact. If old age doesn't get to them, rock'n'roll will first.


The Veronicas - "The Secret Life Of"

Artist: The Veronicas
Label: Sire Records
Distributor: Warner Music
Catalogue No: 9362-49371-2
Release Date: 17 October 2005 (Australia); 14 February 2006 (US)
Produced By: Billy Steinberg, Greg Wells, Raine Maida, Chantal Kreviazuk, Max Martin, Rami Yacoub, Lucasz Gattwold, Toby Gad, Don Gilmore, Josh Alexander
Purchase Album At:

Jessica Origliasso: Vocals
Lisa Origliasso: Vocals

Backing Musicians: Josh Alexander, Randy Cooke, Toby Gad, Dr. Luke, Abe Loriel Jr, Cliff Magness, Raine Maida, Max Martin, Tim Pierce, Greg Wells, Steven Wolf, Rami Yacoub

Running Order:

1) 4Ever
2) Everything I'm Not
3) When It All Falls Apart
4) Revolution
5) Secret
6) Mouth Shut
7) Leave Me Alone
8) Speechless
9) Heavily Broken
10) I Could Get Used To This
11) Nobody Wins
12) Mother Mother

Genres: Rock, Pop/Punk, Teen Rock, Rock'n'Roll, Adult Orientated Rock

The Veronicas were no spring chickens prior to the release of their debut album "The Secret Life Of". They had been raised as performers ever since they were children by their parents Colleen and Joseph Origliasso. Prior to The Veronicas, they had released a few local singles under the name Jess & Lisa produced by Stuart Stuart from Chartsong.


Artist: The Nudists

Label: Independent

Cat No: RR002

Year Of Release: 2007

Produced by: Jonny Romeo at Antfarm Studios

Personnel: Conwae "Buble" Burrell (Vocals, Bass, Guitar and Drums)

Jonny Romeo (Drums, Guitar and Keyboards)

Danny McGirth (Lead Guitar)*

Kendall Penance (Guitar on @, Bass ( ^, Vocals)

Additional Musicians: Robby Viagra (Vocals)* (

Matt Shoobedoo (Vocals) (

Joanna Nilson (Vocals)* $ #

Edwina & Camille (Vocals)* #

Chloe (Vocals)*

Purchase album here:




3) F'N'C! *












The Nudists were the underground of the Brisbane underground and started in 2004 and ran till late 2007. The band's core members were the multi-talented Conwae Burrell (from Extra Foxx) and Jonny Romeo along with several friends and hangers on who would randomly join them on stage at gigs (random people who yelled into the band's mics were NOT members of the band or staged by them).

"Nuder Than Nude" title is a pastiche of the cult porn film "Sexier Than Sex" which I remember seeing advertised on the billboard for a sleazy adult theatre in Lutwyche that my bus used to pass on my way home from high school (anybody else remember it??). The theatre was eventually closed in 1985 to become an office for Telstra, and eventually Fernwood Fitness Centre.

As can be expected from the title, it is full of cheap thrills and shoThe album is an eclectic mix of electronica, rock, garage, and funk. The songs "Nude School" and "I'm Your Man" are not covers of the songs by Painters & Dockers and Wham!

Most of this album's charm lies in Conwae's languid vocals and lyrics which makes you wonder what they are on about half the time, let alone on. The best tracks on the album include "Nude School", the anthemic "C'mon Y'All Git Naked" complete with raps and snippets of female giggling from the "Nudettes", the trippy synth-funk of "To The Hospital" where they talk about using google to find out what the fuck a bilby is and where Jonny's cigarettes got to. "What Is Wrong?" is a more mellower number with dodgy mixed drums and moody guitars but it suddenly speeds up into a power pop number for 20 seconds.

Streamer Bendy EP

Label: Independent
Distributor: Self-distributed
Release Year: 2009
Catalogue Number: 09492222854-3 (CD)
Producers: Andrew Markwell & Streamer Bendy
Purchase EP here:

Streamer Bendy were formed by Matt Newton and former Federal Treasurer Wayne Swan's daughter Erinn in 2008 following the breakup of Erinn's previous band Nina May. Friends with The Veronicas (Jessica Origliasso took the band's photo for the EP), Streamer Bendy sound like they dug through their parents record collections and partied with their Blondie, Beatles and Transvision Vamp albums. Opening up with the attitude ridden "Boy Oh Boy" with its staccato guitar and drum fills, it goes into the glam rock-ish "Trophy Girl" which gives the finger to boys who think that sex with a girls is an entitlement to brag about to their mats. "Minnesota" has a Veronicas-ish vibe to it, whilst the ballad "I'm In Deep" about recovering from a hangover sounds like one of the songs from The Beatles "Abbey Road" album. It quickly picks up again with "Sweet Treat". Erinn's vocals drip with sex, energy and attitude and you can't help but feel excited and refreshed upon hearing their music.
Whilst the EP got rave reviews on Triple J, it did not catch on with commercial radio stations despite the songs being laden with good singalong choruses and great guitar hooks.
In 2013, Streamer Bendy decided to change their name to The Hangout, but not too much has been heard of them since.